Author Interview – V. Saewod Tice

The Chronicles of 2020 cover Hi, V. Saewod Tice. Thank you for allowing me the honor of featuring you on my blog today. We’re pleased to have you here.

Hello!  Thanks for having me, and call me Saewod. (Pronounced – say-wood)

 

Would you like to introduce yourself to us?

Saewod is actually my real name (middle name, but all family and close friends call me by this name).  Since it’s such an unusual name – more like ‘my mom picked it during an acid trip’ (I kid) – I decided to use it in my Y/A writing.

 

How long have you been writing?

While I’ve always written in journals and created short stories and poems from childhood through my teen years, it was honestly only about three years ago that I really let myself write a full fledge story.  And it was through Fan Fiction, believe it or not.

My husband pushed that I was good enough to write without hiding behind someone else’s characters, but it wasn’t until some real life stuff that I finally listened to him and did it.  Now he’s happily making me eat the words I’d always responded with, ‘My writing is far from good enough to get noticed on its own’.  That’s right, open mouth and insert foot.

So, it’s been a little over a year since I was shoved – lovingly – into developing my own characters and building the world around them.

 

We’d love to know a little more about your book. What is its title and what genre does it pertain to?

Amongst the Ruins is a dystopian young adult novel which is the first book in The Chronicles of 2020 series.

 

What is it about?

ATR follows Shilo from hidden child to revered woman. Hidden because she’s ‘different’, Shilo has a lot to learn and come to terms with as she grows into womanhood.

 

Is this the only genre that you write under? Or have you experimented with others – such as short stories, mysteries, or even poetry?

I am a multi-genre writer.  Young adult is the first genre that I’ve been officially published.  Though, I have another book coming out at the end of this year, which is Women’s Fiction/Romance.

Aside from the published books, I write frequently and have a great deal of my work posted on TextNovel.  Genres from Horror to Romance to Erotica are all posted there.

 

When did you first come up with the idea for your story?

Actually, the idea came to me while my daughter and I vegetated on the couch watching back to back episodes of ‘Life After People’ on the History Channel.  During the show my imagination went a little crazy and it came down to, what could’ve happened to the humans?  What would life be like for a select few?  What if all technology was basically wiped away with it, etc?  What would a young girl face growing up in this situation?  From there, Shilo and Amongst the Ruins was born.

 

Would you give us a bit of a synopsis that pertains to the book?

In the year 2220, only about 15% of Earth’s population have survived and thrived after the Nuclear Disaster of 2020.

After 200 years of genetic diseases and mutations, devastation, and survival, industry and military capacities have been virtually destructed and social systems have fallen.  With the collapse of modern society, the population has regressed into eight clans.

Amongst these clans an unusual girl grows:

Raised on the run and in hiding, Shilo wants to be free of the expectations of women. But in a ruined world where anyone could be an enemy, only the radiation-twisted mutants are clearly identifiable. A fertile female is a precious treasure and any lapse in caution can mean a loss of the freedom she longs for.

Training as hard as a soldier to free herself from social constraints, a new clan offers her exactly what she desires. But her success brings discovery, and discovery brings two very different men out of her past–and each of them is determined to claim her.

One obsessed with owning her, the Other desiring the only person to make him love again.

 

Tell us a little more about your characters and the setting of your book. Was it hard doing research for your story?

My research took me from nuclear weapons and explosions to herbalist practices and knowledge, to human reproduction, to genetic defects, to polygamy and binding ceremonies. I didn’t truly think about the necessary research when I first started writing.

I expected there to be a degree of difficulty researching the effects of nuclear weapons, but I was surprised to find out that a lot of information focuses on the destruction and not much in regards to the after effects or how the Earth would reclaim the area after such a disaster.

The information was out there, for the most part, but it took some digging to get the answers I was looking for in some areas.

 

Which one of your characters is your favorite?

While I have places in my heart held special for Shilo as favorite character, Reed is one of my favorite voices in the story.  He’s very ‘civil war – southern’ in terms of my mind set during scenes involving him.  He’s like the beast with a big heart.  His time is limited in the book, but I adore him all the same.  (Hint:  he returns in book 2 with a much bigger part to play)

 

Who is your favorite author and how has he/she inspired you to write?

I know this sounds so much like others, but I can’t pick just one.  My fondness for reading has led me to too many amazing authors.  Each genre has an author I adore and most are well known, except for a few.

 

How do you find the inspiration when writing your stories?

Music is a big inspiration.  Though I’ve started to lean away from using it all the time, it can help set a mood or tone for a scene.  Also, I like to Google pictures that relate to the story I’m writing.  The pictures, artwork, or whatever I come across really stir my inner muse into action.

 

What’s your favorite book?

Holy crow, this changes frequently – yes you can call me fickle – and depends on the genre.

At the moment:

  • Comedic Romance/Erotica goes to Saranna Dewyldes – The Housewives of Mt. Olympus.
  • Horror goes to Richard Laymon – The Beast House Series
  • Romance/Erotica goes to Evangeline Andrews – The Brides of Kindred Series
  • Paranormal Romance goes to R.G. Alexander – My Shifter Showmance
  • Dystopian Romance goes to multiple authors in The Wasteland Series (The Whore, The Wonderer, The Priestess, and The Breeder)
  • Young Adult goes to Melissa de la Cruz – Blue Bloods

I could keep going with all the different genres out there.  LOL

 

Do you have any recommendations for books that you think the blog’s readers may enjoy?

The books listed above are amazing, though please note some are for Adults Only and the Horror is VERY VERY gruesome and hits on Taboo subjects.

Though I do have a multitude of Young Adult Suggestions:

Noble Romance Young Adult Line is amazing.  I have my personal favorites, and if you want to know which ones, stop over to my Monday night (6pm eastern) Author Chat and ask.  Chatzy.com/520867287107

 

When thinking about writing new material, do you take the time to outline your story or do you just go with the flow and see where it takes you?

I used to be very outline oriented.  Now, it’s more of a short idea map I’ve created.  Then I will do some research and take notes.  From there, it becomes a flow and see where the characters take me.  They often take over.

 

Do you have any tips, or thoughts, that you would like to offer to the blog’s readers?

For Writers: The biggest advice I can provide is not to sweat an unfinished manuscript.  I read a lot of posts about writers who dwell on unfinished projects.  Honestly, if you don’t have the motivation/inspiration to finish it then put it aside.  Force writing never works to your benefit.  I, and many others I’ve talked to, have unfinished, works in progress.  Wait for the moment to strike you and then you will write what was truly meant to take place.

For Readers:  Enjoy the stories provided, give authors reviews on sites like Amazon and Goodreads if you think they deserve some recognition.  Word of mouth is golden to an author. :o)

 

So there you have it, everyone, a lovely interview with a very lovely author, V. Saewod Tice. We hope that you’ve enjoyed learning more about her. I wish her the best of success with her book, and with those to come.

Thank you so much for having me.  You’re site looks amazing and has been extremely welcoming!

 

For more updates on her writing, follow her via the following:

Author blog:  www.saewod.webs.com

Chronicles of 2020 blog:  www.thechroniclesof2020.webs.com

 

You can also find her on Facebook:

Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001056351331

ATR Page: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001056351331

 

and Twitter: @saewodtice

3 thoughts on “Author Interview – V. Saewod Tice

  1. Pingback: Amongst the Ruins – Pre-Release Interview @ Simplistik.org « Noble Young Adult

Leave a Reply

